Northern Trust: Preview, tee times, tv coverage


The Northern Trust will host the top-120 players in the FedEx Cup standings as they take on Glen Oaks Club in Old Westbury, N.Y.

Patrick Reed is the defending champion in what was formerly known as the Barclays Championship.

Hideki Matsuyama comes in at the top of the Fed Ex Cup standings, but close behind are the top players in the world, including Justin Thomas, Jordan Spieth and Dustin Johnson.

The Northern Trust is the first of four events in the Fed Ex Cup playoffs. The playoff fields are paired from 125 players (Northern Trust) to 100 (Dell) to 70 (BMW Championship) to 30 (Tour Championship). Of those players currently in the top 5, only Spieth (2015) previously has captured the FedEx Cup. Points awarded to winners of playoff tournaments are four times what they are in the regular season.

The defending FedEx Cup champion is Rory McIlroy who has been suffering from a rib injury and was not sure he would compete in the playoffs.

McIlroy is one of the 120 who will tee it up Thursday morning.  Five eligible players will not be competing, include Masters champion Sergio Garcia who traditionally skips the first two playoff events each year. Adam Scott will be at home awaiting the birth of his second child. In addition, Brandt Snedeker, Scott Piercy and Dominic Bozzelli are injured.

Glen Oaks Club ,Old Westbury, N.Y.
7,350 yards Par 35-35–70
The course has only two par 5s, the 3rd at 625 yards and the 13th at 539. The first seven holes have been called one of the toughest stretch of holes in golf. Previously a 27 hole course, it was renovated down to 18 for the Northern Trust.

The rough around the greens have no rough. Like Augusta National, you miss the green and we’ll see who the best scramblers and putters are this week.

TV Coverage

Golf Channel will have live coverage on Thursday and Friday from 2:00 to 6:00 PM ET. CBS will provide coverage on Saturday starting at 3:00 PM ET and Sunday starting at 2:00 PM ET.


Thursday Tee Times

All times Eastern

No. 1 Tee
7:20 AM — C.T. Pan, Patton Kizzire, Emiliano Grillo
7:31 AM — Bud Cauley, Chez Reavie, Scott Brown
7:42 AM — Ryan Moore, Russell Knox, Anirban Lahiri
7:53 AM — Rory McIlroy, Sung Kang, Keegan Bradley
8:04 AM — Justin Rose, Xander Schauffele, Mackenzie Hughes
8:15 AM — Gary Woodland, Wesley Bryan, Tony Finau
8:26 AM — Russell Henley, Jason Dufner, Charles Howell III
8:37 AM — Cody Gribble, Branden Grace, J.J. Spaun
8:48 AM — Steve Stricker, Derek Fathauer, Tyrone Van Aswegen
8:59 AM — Bubba Watson, Harris English, Geoff Ogilvy
12:00 PM — Robert Streb, Morgan Hoffmann, Jim Herman
12:11 PM — Rod Pampling, Chris Stroud, Kevin Tway
12:22 PM — James Hahn, Sean O’Hair, Lucas Glover
12:33 PM — Si Woo Kim, Zach Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau
12:44 PM — Brendan Steele, Kyle Stanley, Paul Casey
12:55 PM — Brian Harman, Charley Hoffman, Pat Perez
1:06 PM — Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler, Jon Rahm
1:17 PM — Michael Kim, Byeong Hun An, Chris Kirk
1:28 PM — D.A. Points, Ryan Blaum, Brian Gay
1:39 PM — Blayne Barber, Ben Martin, Rory Sabbatini
No. 10 Tee
7:20 AM — Stewart Cink, Jonas Blixt, Patrick Cantlay
7:31 AM — Chad Campbell, Rafa Cabrera Bello, Kevin Na
7:42 AM — Luke List, Phil Mickelson, Charl Schwartzel
7:53 AM — Jamie Lovemark, Ian Poulter, Jason Day
8:04 AM — Adam Hadwin, Marc Leishman, Matt Kuchar
8:15 AM — Brooks Koepka, Daniel Berger, Kevin Kisner
8:26 AM — Hideki Matsuyama, Justin Thomas, Jordan Spieth
8:37 AM — Camilo Villegas, Robert Garrigus, Seung-Yul Noh
8:48 AM — Jimmy Walker, Scott Stallings, David Lingmerth
8:59 AM — Harold Varner III, Vaughn Taylor, J.J. Henry
12:00 PM — J.B. Holmes, Kevin Streelman, Nick Taylor
12:11 PM — Graham DeLaet, Patrick Rodgers, Grayson Murray
12:22 PM — Danny Lee, Martin Laird, Kelly Kraft
12:33 PM — Patrick Reed, Ollie Schniederjans, Cameron Smith
12:44 PM — Louis Oosthuizen, Bill Haas, Hudson Swafford
12:55 PM — Jhonattan Vegas, Kevin Chappell, Francesco Molinari
1:06 PM — Henrik Stenson, Billy Horschel, Webb Simpson
1:17 PM — Whee Kim, William McGirt, Jason Kokrak
1:28 PM — Luke Donald, Richy Werenski, Brandon Hagy
1:39 PM — Nick Watney, Martin Flores, John Huh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *