Players Championship Recap And Final Round Tee Times

Third-Round Leaderboard J.B. Holmes 68-69-70—207 (-9) Kyle Stanley 69-66-72—207 (-9) Louis Oosthuizen 69-66-73—208 (-8) Si Woo Kim 69-72-68—209 (-7) Emiliano Grillo 72-71-67—210 (-6) Ian Poulter 72-67-71—210 (-6)

54 Hole Cut

With more than 78 players (82 at 2-over 144) making the 36-hole cut on Friday, a 54-hole cut to the low 70 and ties was made with 71 players at 5-over or better advancing to Sunday’s final round. It marks the third time in the last 10 editions of THE PLAYERS where a 54-hole cut was required. In 2014, 82 players made the 36-hole cut before the field was reduced to 71 players after Saturday. In 2009, the field of 83 was reduced to 71 following the 54-hole cut. Friday’s 36-hole cut of 2-over 146 was the highest at THE PLAYERS since 2008 when the cut came at 4-over 148.

With rounds of 68-69-70, J.B. Holmes is the only player in the field to card three rounds under par.

Kyle Stanley, the 36-hole co-leader, posted even-par 72 to share the 54-hole lead with J.B. Holmes. Stanley is making his fourth start in THE PLAYERS, where has made three of four cuts. His best finish came in 2013 (T33)

In search of his second PGA TOUR victory and first since the 2010 Open Championship, Louis Oosthuizen, the second-round co-leader shot a 1-over 73 to sit one back headed into the final round at THE PLAYERS Championship. This is Oosthuizen’s seventh appearance at THE PLAYERS with his best finish, T19, coming in 2013

Si Woo Kim sits fourth through 54 holes and seeks his second win on TOUR. With rounds of 68-70-72-74—284 (-4), Kim finished T23 in his debut at THE PLAYERS last year.

Emiliano Grillo hit 10 of 14 fairways and 14 of 18 greens and took 28 putts to shoot 5-under 67, including an inward nine of 32 (-4), to move from T34 to T5. Grillo has made the cut in 13 of this 14 starts this season. He has two top-10s, the best being a T7 finish at the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard. He is currently 70th in the FedExCup standings.

Ian Poulter is on a streak of 28 consecutive holes without a bogey, as he turned in the only bogey-free round Saturday and he didn’t record a bogey over his final 10 holes Friday. In this span, he has one birdie, one eagle and 26 pars, and he has hit 20 of 28 greens in regulation. Poulter has played in every PLAYERS Championship since 2004. In his 13 previous starts, he has made 10 cuts and his best finish was second place in 2010.

There were 10 balls in the water at the par-3 17th hole Saturday

Round Four Tee Times

All times Eastern

8:45  Jason Dufner

8:50  Phil Mickelson, Lee Westwood

9:00  Rod Pampling, Ricky Barnes

9:10  Chaz Reavie, David Hearn

9:20  Aaron Baddeley, Billy Hurley III

9:30  Adam Hadwin, Hideki Matsuyama

9:40  Patrick Reed, Martin Kaymer

9:50  Michael Kim, Ryan Moore

10:00 Kevin Kisner, Boo Weekley

10:10 Harold Varner III, Branden Grace

10:20 Roberto Castro, Daniel Berger

10:30 Cody Gribble, Dustin Johnson

10:40 Sung Kang, Jimmy Walker

10:50 Blayne Barber, Jim Herman

11:00 Vijay Singh, Charley Hoffman

11:10 Paul Casey, Webb Simpson

11:20 Tommy Fleetwood, Smylie Kaufman

11:30 Seung-Yul Noh, Cameron Tringale

11:40 Graeme McDowell, Daniel Summerhays

11:50 Keegan Bradley, Kevin Chappell

12:00 Brian Harman, Tyrrell Hatton

12:10 Henrik Stenson, Mackenzie Hughes

12:20 Rickie Fowler, Russell Henley

12:30 Zach Johnson, Justin Rose

12:40 Steve Stricker, Brendan Steele

12:50 Rory McIlroy, Jason Day

1:00  Ben Martin, Chris Kirk

1:10  Brooks Koepka, Yuta Ikeda

1:20  Lucas Glover, Bernd Wiesberger

1:30 William McGirt, Adam Scott

1:40 Francesco Molinari, Rafa Cabrera Bello

1:50  Alex Noren, Pat Perez

2:00  Sergio Garcia, Patrick Cantlay

2:10  Emiliano Grillo, Ian Poulter

2:20  Louis Oosthuizen, Si Woo Kim

2:30  Kyle Stanley, J.B. Holmes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *