QBE Shootout: Players, pairings, stats, tee times

QBE Shootout


The QBE Shootout comes to Tiburón Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples and 24 individuals will compete as 12 two-person teams.

Founded by Greg Norman, the event is celebrating its 29th year on the PGA TOUR.  It is the longest running PGA TOUR-sanctioned post-season event.


The order of formats for each competitive round are Scramble (Friday), Modified Alternate Shot (Saturday) and Better Ball (Sunday).

TV Schedule

Golf Channel will televise Friday (1:30-4:30 PM ET Live), Saturday (1:30-4:30 PM ET Live) and Sunday (1:00-2:00 PM Live) with coverage shifting to NBC from 2:00-4:00 PM Live

Friday Tee Times and Pairings

Russell Henley & Kyle Stanley 10:15 am Sean O’Hair & Steve Stricker

Brian Harman & Pat Perez 10:30 am Keegan Bradley & Brendan Steele

Shane Lowry & Graeme McDowell 10:45 am Jason Dufner & Billy Horschel

Kevin Chappell & Kevin Kisner 11:00 am Daniel Berger & Gary Woodland

Tony Finau & Lexi Thompson 11:15 am Charley Hoffman & Zach Johnson

Brandt Snedeker & Bubba Watson 11:30 am Harris English & Matt Kuchar

Tournament Notes

2017 QBE Challenge Tournament Notes Dates: December 6-10, 2017

Where: Tiburon Golf Club (Naples, Fla.)

Par/Yards: 72/7,382 yards

Field: 24 players (12 two-person teams)

2016 champions: Matt Kuchar/Harris English

2017 purse: $3.3 million

2016 winners: Harris English sank a 12-foot eagle putt on the par-5 17th hole, which turned out to be the decisive shot of the event for he and partner Matt Kuchar. The putt resulted in a 1-stroke victory at 28under 188 (57-66-65) over Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker by a stroke.

Course: Tiburon Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Resort in Naples, Fla. hosts the 24-player event for a 17th consecutive year.

Competitors in the 2017 QBE Shootout have combined for 104 victories (95 on the PGA TOUR and nine by Lexi Thompson on the LPGA Tour).

Fifteen of the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking are in this week’s QBE Shootout, highlighted by No. 15, Matt Kuchar.

With a win this week, defending champions Matt Kuchar and Harris English would become the first team to win the QBE Shootout three times (2013, 2016).

Paired this year with Tony Finau, Lexi Thompson is just the second woman to compete in the QBE Shootout. Annika Sorenstam teamed with Fred Couples in 2006.

The team with the most top-five finishes in tournament history is Mark O’Meara and Curtis Strange. The pair collected five such finishes between 1989 and 1996, including a victory in the inaugural Shootout of 1989.

Eleven players have won the QBE Shootout in their first attempt: Mark O’Meara (1989), Curtis Strange (1989), Fred Couples (1990), Scott McCarron (1997), Hank Kuehne (2003), Rod Pampling (2006), Woody Austin (2007), Keegan Bradley (2011), Brendan Steele (2011), Harris English (2013) and Cameron Tringale (2014)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *